El Quim de La Boqueria

I was extremely excited to go back to Mercat La Boqueria after my first visit to Barcelona about 5 years ago. I was backpacking through Europe with 4 other friends and we were on a poor-college-kid budget so we frequented La Boqueria a lot for groceries. This time, I went back specifically to try out a tapas bar that was recommended by Sarah.

El Quim is basically a 10×10 bar smack in the middle of the market completely packed with diners on every side of the counter. There’s a frenzy of cooking activity in the kitchen and they can amazingly still fit 4 chefs inside.

We took our places behind a couple who were obviously enjoying their lunch, albeit very slowly. After waiting for about 30 minutes, we managed to secure 2 spots for 5 people. We made a makeshift table out of 2 other stools and dove right in to ordering the food. Notable dishes: Deep fried artichokes, salted cod (bacalao), the leg of lamb (with its meat falling off the bone) and spiced shrimp. I cannot begin to describe how amazing the food was so I’ll let the pictures tell you.

El Quim de La Boqueria
La Rambla 91
Barcelona, Spain
93 301 98 10
Opens at noon, closed on Sundays

Leave a comment